Accreditation Council

The Accreditation Council is the central decision-making body of the German Accreditation Council. It decides on the accreditation and re-accreditation of study programmes, internal quality assurance systems of higher education institutions and alternative procedures.

The members of the Accreditation Council are appointed for a period of four years.

Members of the Accreditation Council

Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Bargstädt, Bauhaus University Weimar, Chairman of the Accreditation Council

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Bartels, University of Applied Sciences Lübeck

Prof. Dr. Heike Faßbender, Technical University of Braunschweig

Prof. Dr. Petra Gromann, University of Applied Sciences Fulda

Prof. Dr. Oscar Loureda Lamas, University of Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Roth, University of Cologne

Prof. Dr. Burkhard Schmager, Ernst Abbe University Jena

Prof. Dr. Martin Ullrich, University of Music Nuremberg

Prof. Dr. Holger Burckhart, University of Siegen

Dr Christine Burtscheidt,
Hessian Ministry of Higher Education, Research, Science and the Arts

Dr. Michael Lehmann,
Ministry of Economics, Science and Digitalisation of Saxony-Anhalt

Markus Wiedemann,
State Ministry of Baden-Wuerttemberg for Sciences, Research and Arts

Dr. Hans-Peter Zils,
Ministry for Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia

Dr. h.c. Josef Beutelmann,
Chairman of the Supervisory Boards of Barmenia Versicherungen

Dr Christina Gommlich,
Senior Manager Economic, Trade & Social Policy Corporate Communications & Government Relations, BASF SE

Dr. Andreas Keller,
Vice-Chairman of the Trade Union for Education and Science (GEW)

PD Dr. Hans Jürgen Urban,
Executive member of the executive board of IG Metall

Rolf Fischer,
Senate Department for the Interior and Sport of the State of Berlin

Daniel Irmer, Technical University Bergakademie Freiberg

Lina Irscheid, Potsdam University

Prof. Dr. Tilmann Märk, Rector of the University of Innsbruck

Prof. Dr. Martine Rahier, former rector of the University of Neuchâtel

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Zintl, Otto-Friedrich University Bamberg (emeritus)

Permanent guests and deputy representatives

Prof. Dr. Uwe Schmidt, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

Prof. Dr. Andreas Musil, University of Potsdam

Prof. Dr. Marcelo da Veiga, Alanus University

Prof. Dr. Christine Bescherer, Pädagogische Hochschule Ludwigsburg

Prof. Dr. Peter Buttner, Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften München

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Joaquin Diaz, Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen

Prof. Dr. Birgit Friedl, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

Prof. Dr. Carmen Leicht-Scholten, RWTH Aachen

Prof. Dr. Oliver Müller, Hochschule Kaiserslautern

Prof. Dr. Rolf Sachsse, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar

Prof. Dr. Charlotte Schubert, Universität Leipzig

Dr Imke Buß,
Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts Baden-Württemberg


Councillor Katharina Schrader,
Ministry of Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia

Timo Gayer, IG Metall
Trade Union Secretary

Stefani Sonntag, Trade Union for Education and Science (GEW)
Consultant in the Executive Board's Higher Education and Research Division